Short Story Slam Week 2-What Does Ruby Want?

Ruby’s birthday is only a week away, she is going to be 10.

Here he is, Tom, Ruby’s Dad, on his way to buy his daughter a birthday gift. Thinking of the excitement on Ruby’s face, Tom runs faster, with his horse Nally.

Life on prairie could be dangerous. Wolves, bandits and natural disasters may hit them unexpectedly. It is end of May here, the temperature is fitting, but there was a tornado two days ago near their hometown  and the family is safe because they have a shelter underground, some food supplies plus bottled water are stored there.

It’s getting hard and harder to come up with a birthday gift for Ruby. She almost has everything a girl ever dreamed of: loving parents, teddy bears, Barbie dolls, a kitten, and a puppy…her Mother Sarah has been home-schooling Ruby….and now, she is getting a pony. Life could not be better.

Tom is wrong, Ruby is depressed for quite some years now, she is a girl growing up barely getting out of her home, despite times she spends outdoor playing with her puppy or kitten.

Ruby wants something, something she could hardly think of it concretely.

Here is a list of things that might help Ruby:

1):  a friend of her age

2): going to public school

3): a younger sibling

4): living in a city

Can you add yours if none of the above works in your personal perspective? What do you want if you were Ruby?

Have  fun!

*****

My entry for Short Story Slam Week 2:

http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.com/2011/05/short-story-slam-week-2.html

Write a poem or a story based on the image you see, you can create if you want to!

23 thoughts on “Short Story Slam Week 2-What Does Ruby Want?

  1. Can I just say…clever! I like the photo choice this week. It is going to be fun to create a poem to go with it! I liked yours very much! Since I, too, have a 9 1/2 year old I would say that Ruby may want new books that could take her on new adventures! But my daughter, in 2011, would probably say a “date with Justin Bieber” Ha Ha!

    Thanks for the fresh story, it gave me pause for thought and that is always a good thing!

  2. I like your perspective and take on the prompt ! Very different !
    I think Ruby really wants no.1 ~ a friend of her age !

  3. This is terrific, Jingle. I recall, when I was ten, I wanted to be twenty. Don’t think dad can make that happen. The other thing that can be done and my mother did, was redecorate my room. Lovely surprise.

  4. Love how you’ve created a story with reader participation!

    I say, No. 1 plus…. meeting her daddy’s parents, ’cause they’ve never met — her dad and his dad had a fight before she was born, which is why they live so far from anywhere…

  5. This is a good story with a strong message that needs to be heard. It comes from the wise and compassionate teacher/mom in you, Ji. Good job and thank you. Enjoy slam.

  6. A great story with a message, and I would have to say if I were Ruby, I would want choice…..

Leave a comment