What Is This Life, That Is Full of Care

What is this life, that is full of care,

You find no time to double a dare.

No time to whine about your misfortune,

No time to dine in a ruined garden.

No time to pollute the river you pass,

No time to stare at the shadow on the grass.

No time to ponder at the night owl’s glance,

And watch her glide in perfect balance.

No time to wait and believe you can,

and stretch your arms when the fun began.

What is this life, that’s full of care,

You find no time to double a dare.

A sad life this is, if full of care,

You find no time to relax in a chair.

*****

This poem is written for Thursday Poets Rally week 25.

Everyone who writes poetry and has a blog is welcome to attend, Jingle will not specifically notify previous participants, no obligation, Happy Thursday 2 You all!


25 thoughts on “What Is This Life, That Is Full of Care

  1. Once for lent I gave up worry and business. My determination lasted about a day. Just couldn’t do it! I resonate with this poem. Thanks.

    Also, I’ve read and posted on more than 18 blogs. Great reading. Neat people. I anticipate spending some more time visiting. – Bill

  2. Woww.. this is a lovely poem.. And very different from your usual bubbly style..
    This simple and sombre one really sends out a message.. to take a step back, pause, let your hair down, and just chill a bit..
    What’s life is you don’t relax a bit…isn’t it..
    A very beautifully written poem!

  3. Today I won’t have any time either!! A lovely poem, different from your normal ones but I have enjoyed it immensely!! Thanks for sharing Ji…and have a relaxing day ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  4. I love it ๐Ÿ˜€ Very true and time is indeed very precious as We tend to miss out important details in life, thank for sharing such a wonderful poem and have a great rally:D

  5. Very well said Jingle. I do wish that we could all appreciate the time we have to do all that we can in this world. Hope you have a happy Friday with your family. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am just getting to do some blogging again. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. This was beautifully put Jingle.

    I couldn’t figure out if this started of on a negative note and ended positive, but there was no room to think, I was busy flowing along with the words.

  7. You leave much to ponder…we need to enjoy all that is around us. Living a full life is more than loving, but is filled with life from nature as well.

  8. this reminds me of kids who were never allowed to play in the dirt, or eat worms…i think one can be too careful in life and never really experience it…well written and thoughtful ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Beautifully written. I particularly like the rhymes and the message is something I think about all the time. Nice.

    P.S I just manage to get internet today and hope it stays around for quite some few days…I will visit as many as possible with this opportunity. The awards have been displayed as well. Thanks for your patience and support. I really appreciate.

    Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

